Our writing competition winner is announced!

Our writing competition winner is announced!

For the fourth year in a row, we have partnered with Iceland Travel to run a competition to win a spot at the Iceland Writers Retreat. This year’s theme was “Waterfalls” and we received 350 submissions from the around the world.

The winner of the competition is Jackie Taylor from the UK, with her story “The Words Don’t Sit Easily”. Continue reading

Four Recipients of 2018 Iceland Writers Retreat Alumni Award

Four Recipients of 2018 Iceland Writers Retreat Alumni Award

This year is the third year the Iceland Writers Retreat has offered the Alumni Award. This prestigious award is funded in its entirety by generous IWR alumni and friends. It gives its recipients full or partial funding to attend the next Retreat, which will take place April 11 to 15, 2018 in Reykjavik. The winners are chosen based on both merit and financial need, and submissions were reviewed by IWR alumni volunteers. We received over 700 applications from around the world and the quality of submissions was extremely high.

Full Award recipients:

Puja Changoiwala is a Mumbai-based independent journalist, and author of the widely-acclaimed true crime book in India, ‘The Front Page Murders.’ This book, Puja’s debut work as an author, is recipient of awards and unanimous acclaim from the most reputed quarters of the country. As a journalist, Puja is a contributor to some of the most esteemed news publications in India, Europe, and North America. Her writings have featured in The Guardian, BBC, among other renowned outlets. Previously a human rights correspondent with a London-based political magazine, Puja has also worked as a senior crime correspondent with Hindustan Times, a leading Indian national daily. She has produced award-winning work, covering Mumbai’s sins, and their casualties.

Nora Shychuk is a graduate of University College Cork in Ireland, where she received an M.A. in creative writing. Her B.A., from Jacksonville University, is in Screenwriting and English. Her work has appeared in several literary journals and magazines, including The Lonely Crowd and Pact Press’ Speak and Speak Again anthology. Her short story, Separations, was shortlisted for the 2017 From The Well Short Story Competition in Ireland. Last year, Nora was a finalist for the Iceland Writers Retreat Alumni Award and couldn’t be more pleased to be one of the recipients this year. She is an assistant editor for Regal House Publishing and is currently finishing up a short story collection. She lives in New York City.

Partial Award recipients:

Fatin Abbas was born in Sudan, grew up in New York, and attended university in the UK and US. She is a graduate of the Hunter College (CUNY) MFA in Creative Writing Program, winning during her time there the Bernard Cohen Short Story Prize and the Miriam Weinberg Richter Award. Her fiction has appeared in Freeman’sThe Warwick Review, and Friction, and her non-fiction and review essays have appeared in Le Monde DiplomatiqueThe NationAfrica is a Country, and openDemocracy.net. She is a recipient of the Miles Morland Foundation Writing Scholarship, and is at work on her first novel, The Interventionists.

Julia Duin is a Seattle-based journalist who has worked as a reporter or editor for everything from the Houston Chronicle to the Washington Times. She’s also written extensively for the Washington Post Sunday Magazine for which she just came out with a nearly 6,000-word profile on President Trump’s advisor Paula White. She’s published six books, the latest being In the House of the Serpent Handler, a nonfiction work about 20-something Appalachian pentecostal serpent handlers who use Facebook to publicize their exploits. During the 2014-2015 academic year, she occupied the Snedden chair as a journalism professor at the University of Alaska/Fairbanks.

We’ll be profiling all the recipients in more detail in the coming weeks.

The other finalists for the prize were (in alphabetical order):

Jane Affleck (Canada)
Michael Agugom (Nigeria)
Luís Roberto Amabile (Brazil)
Sarah Barnes (United States)
Odette Casamayor (United States)
Efemia Chela (South Africa)
Christy Chilimigras (South Africa)
Heather Delfs (Australia)
Judith Duncan (Australia)
Jacinta Escudos (El Salvador)
Lucy Grace (UK)
Anne Hamilton (UK)
Sean Kerr (Canada)
Mary-Ann Leeb (United States)
Amy J. E. MacKenzie (United States)
Joanne McClelland-Phillips (Australia)
Dora Mortimer (UK)
Daniel Musgrave (United States)
Diego Olavarría (Mexico)
Suyi Okungbowa (Nigeria)
Ash Parsons (United States)
Carien Smith (South Africa)

An additional ten people received “honorary mention”.

Win a spot at the Iceland Writers Retreat!

Win a spot at the Iceland Writers Retreat!
We’ve once again partnered with Iceland Travel to offer one person a free spot at the Iceland Writers Retreat in April 2018.  The winner will receive the full retreat package, including a free hotel stay, tours, most meals, and all workshops for the duration of the event, from 11 to 15 April, 2018.*
The deadline to submit an entry is 23:59 (GMT) Sunday, November 12, 2017. There is no fee to enter. Click here to enter.

Continue reading

Stack Entry


Per Person

  • 1 Free Entrance
  • Regular Seating
  • Custom Swags
  • Free Wifi

Student Pass


Bulk Order

  • 20x Free Entrance
  • 20x Regular Seating
  • Custom Swags
  • Free Wifi

VIP Pass


VIP's only

  • VIP Entrance
  • VIP Seating
  • Custom Swags
  • Free Wifi