Successful campaign for Iceland Writers Retreat Alumni Award

Successful campaign for Iceland Writers Retreat Alumni Award

We did it — thanks to your support!

Thanks to the generosity of our wonderful alumni and friends of the Iceland Writers Retreat, we have once again achieved our goal and will be able to offer Iceland Writers Retreat Alumni Awards for deserving writers to attend our event in 2020, at least one full and one partial award.

(Full funding covers all participation in the Iceland Writers Retreat, as detailed on our website, as well as accommodation and round-trip flights to Iceland. Partial funding covers the participant fee only, and neither accommodation nor round trip flights.)

Details for eligibility and how to apply for will be published from 1 September, with applications accepted until 31 October. It will be free to submit an application, but follow the instructions carefully, as incomplete submissions will not be considered. (We will post full details on how to apply on 1 September.)

The recipients will be chosen based primarily on two factors: a) The potential they demonstrate (or have demonstrated) as writers and b) Their need for financial support to be able to attend. We will also evaluate based on the other questions in the application, though, so make sure to tell us about yourself and why you think you’d be the perfect match for the Iceland Writers Retreat. (Please don’t just tell us how you have always wanted to visit Iceland.)

If you’re not eligible to apply for the scholarship, but wish to attend the Iceland Writers Retreat, you can register now. Anyone can register to attend, but spaces fill on a first come, first served basis.

A special thank you to our contributors:

Karen Anderson

Paulette Barnes

Georgia Berner

Carol Binkowski

Chris Blackford

Stephanie Bourbon

Patrick Connolly

Nicholas Crowley

Randver Fleckenstein

Sally Foskett

Jose R. Garcia

Erica Jacobs Green

Christine Grimando

Sue Heilbronner

Ian Gunn

Ásdís Ingolfsdóttir

Katharine Kroeber-Wiley

Kimmery Martin

Felicia L. Mason

Edna McNamara

Cindy Morris

Lisa Morriss-Andrews

Laurie Moy

Joy Nash

Margaret Nowaczyk

Elizabeth Nunberg

Ghislaine Patthey

Cathy Raphael

Eliza Reid

Lisa Shannen

Jan Stanley

Ann Thorsson

Martine van Bijlert

Janine Vici Campbell

Molly Watson

Florence Wetzel

Susie Wilde

Sara Winokur

*Names in bold denote individuals who contributed EUR 110 or more to the campaign.

Stack Entry


Per Person

  • 1 Free Entrance
  • Regular Seating
  • Custom Swags
  • Free Wifi
[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]

Student Pass


Bulk Order

  • 20x Free Entrance
  • 20x Regular Seating
  • Custom Swags
  • Free Wifi
[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]

VIP Pass


VIP's only

  • VIP Entrance
  • VIP Seating
  • Custom Swags
  • Free Wifi
[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]